Dance Team Wins State for First Time

Shianne Berger

The CHS dance team is the D3 kick state champion. The team has been to state a couple of times and has even placed third in pom, but it is the first time it has won state. The competition was held at the La Crosse Civic Center on February 1.

“I am so extremely proud and excited for my team,” senior Willow Geiser, a team captain, said. “It has been a goal since the beginning of the season to take top three at state. We were able to exceed that goal and become state champions.”

The dance team also received fourth place for their jazz performance. They ended up changing their whole routine about two weeks before the competition.

“There was a pretty big point gap between us and the team ahead of us,” team member Allyson Mueller, a junior, said. “And we wanted to close the gap, which we were able to once we changed it.”

This year, the team was led by head coach Lynsie VerHagen. Mrs. Brittany Mayer, a CHS science teacher, was the assistant coach.

“We were overjoyed. This is a first for Chilton, and to be called up on that stage to be acknowledged is an incredible experience,” said Mrs. Mayer. “It was the perfect reward to a season of hard work and determination.” Geiser also received an all-state recognition for her solo performance.

“Again, very surprised! It’s an amazing feeling standing in front of hundreds of people and standing next to girls from teams I look up to,” Geiser said. “I went with a different style of dance than what most of my competition did, and I really think that made me stand out.”

The team placed very well throughout the season:

3rd place jazz
3rd place kick
5th place pom

Little Chute
2nd place jazz
2nd place kick
2nd place pom

Oshkosh West
1st place kick
2nd place jazz
6th place pom

1st place kick
3rd place jazz
8th place pom

Eastern Regionals
1st place kick
2nd place jazz

1st place kick
4th place jazz

This season, the team is made up of 12 girls: seniors Willow Geiser, Sami Wech and Addison Frank; junior Allyson Mueller; sophomores Jade and Scarlett Kimbro, Cambria Deehr and Katie Koehler and freshmen Afton Frank, Annalia Lopez, Olivia Lisowe and Emmie Strouf.

Mrs. Mayer hopes that this win will help advance the program and encourage current and future dancers to try out.

Tryouts for the 2020-2021 season will be taking place in early spring.